This depends on the following: 


1. I want to keep the members in the membership level I plan to delete active on the site. 


If you have paying members, we recommend moving all members that belong to the level you want to delete to their new designated membership level. Hopefully you are moving all members to the same level. If they are getting split up, the process will become very time consuming if you have multiple members. 


The quickest way to move multiple members from one membership level to another is to execute an SQL command in the database. We strongly suggest asking for assistance prior to attempting this, as a simple error can cause havoc on a site. Please email you account manager directly prior to attempting this. 


2. I want to delete all of the members that are in a specific membership level. 


Deleting a membership level does not delete the members that were associated to that membership level. The members will remain in the database, but will not be assigned to a membership level. They will be stuck in "limbo", and not appear in any search results. 


To delete all of the members that belong to a specific membership level requires an SQL command in the database. We strongly suggest asking for assistance prior to attempting this, as a simple error can cause havoc on a site. Please email you account manager directly prior to attempting this. 


3. I don't have any members in the membership level I plan to delete

You can proceed to delete the membership level. You may wish to record the settings assigned to the membership level to ensure you can activate a new level with the proper configuration.